An Invitation to Interactive Practice of Double-Loop Learning

(Please see recent note at the bottom of this blog)

Only seven months old, this blog has grown in readership (see chart below). I am very happy and thankful to all my loyal readers, including of course YOU reading this blog now.

growth of weekly hits

There is surprisingly great interest in double-loop learning and intangible assets (see Rank 1 and 2 in the Top Posts below). Three posts: 12 Types of Learning (Rank 6), Limits of the Possible (Rank 7) and Techniques in Knowledge Innovation (or: You Experience How Da Vinci Thinks) (Rank 12) are very recent posts yet they attracted high page hits. These three blogs are all about expanding and deepening our own personal learning processes.

top posts 20May2009

I interpret the high number of hits of two posts: “Oops! (Learn from My KM Mistakes)” (Rank 3) and “About Me” (Rank 4) as great interest in the personal learning journey of other people.

After reflecting on the above findings, I decided that the next blog series will be about “Practice Double-Loop Learning: Discover Why You Think, Perceive and Behave the Way You Do.” I will call this series the “2L Series.”

For this blog series, I will invite a small group of readers in interactive practice of double-loop learning. Merely reading a blog is not enough learning; deeper learning requires practice and even deeper and expanded learning requires interaction with others involved in similar practice. This is the essence behind the KM tool called Community of Practice.

Therefore in joining this group I will ask you to commit yourself to practice all the techniques and interact with each other through the Comment functionality below each blog. The purpose of interactive comments is to enable group members to compare notes, learn from each other’s personal practice, contribute to improving the practice itself, and thus learn and grow together.

If you are interested to join this group, email me (serafin.talisayon@cclfi.org) and say something about yourself and your intent in participating in this group experiment. I will collect your emails and send this to all participants at the start of the 2L Series, so that members of this small group, though virtual, can start by knowing something about each other. The 2L Series will start on the last week of May. On the meantime, we shall finish the last few blogs of the Q series.

Below is the tentative outline of the 2L Series on “Practice Double-Loop Learning: Discover Why You Think, Perceive and Behave the Way You Do.” The group can revise the outline as we go along.

> 1- Self-Observation

    11- Isko and Esbert, internal attention
    12- Double listening
    13- Sensing my energy level
    14- Aristotle’s advice: watching my emotions
    15- Watching “from the 4th floor”
    16- Thinking past or thinking future, or being present

> 2- Self-Understanding

    21- My most fulfilling moment
    22- What makes me angry and indignant
    23- MBTI: my seeing and thinking style
    24- My learning style
    25- Three things I did exceptionally well: my talents, virtues and passions
    26- My highest or peak life moment and my lowest valley life moment
    27- My childhood issues
    28- Our biological and my cultural programmings
    29- Three pointing fingers

> 3- Sensing Life

    31- “For me, life is…”
    32- Peak work experience
    33- Triple listening
    34- Sensing the emergent
    35- Looking for questions
    36- Problem finding and innovating
    37- Learning from movies
    38- Insights from world events
    39- “Reading the Living Book”: connecting the dots in your life
    310- “Panoramic Gantt Chart”
    311- Conscious co-evolution: the fourth wave of creation

> 4- Self-Management

    41- Discovering my blindfolds
    42- Examining my assumptions
    43- Uncovering my automatic behavior patterns
    44- Suspending judgment
    45- Divergent-then-convergent thinking
    46- Conscious and transparent intent
    47- Escape from runaway trains
    48- Capabilities and knowledge for action

> 5- Your Organization and You

    51- Vertical vs. horizontal organizations
    52- Young-entrepreneurial vs. old-rigid organizations
    53- Weight of organizational culture and systems
    54- “Undiscussables”
    55- Change management

> 6- Co-Evolving with Others

    61- Process partnering
    62- A new way of conversing
    63- Appreciative sensing
    64- Generative dialogue
    65- Consensual discernment
    66- Glocals for one another

Cheers!

Note (25 May 2009): Some of the people who signified interest in participating in the above-described interactive practice of double-loop learning expressed their concerns to me about privacy issues. I understand their concerns, which is particularly relevant to double-loop learning. While seeking a satisfactory way of addressing this issue, I therefore decided to postpone the 2L Series and instead start a different blog series entitled “Indigo Learning Practices” or L Series.

=>Jump to Clickable Master Index

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

